What is a Profiterole?

This picture begs one smiling sigh…

Among the discoveries made last year, one find I can not NOT mention would be the existence of profiteroles.  Pictured above from my first sampling at Las Vegas’s Bouchon, profiteroles are small, round deserts made of pastry and cream: those I’ve had have all been made with ice cream, but I understand whipped cream is often used.  Credited to the wife of Henry II of France, this desert is one of only a couple things from French cuisine I’ve take a liking to: (the other would be French Onion Soup, which may be my favorite food, when done right).

In addition to French restaurants, I’ve found profiteroles in both Chinese and American eateries (though Bouchon’s still “take the cake”).  A must-try, I will forever be grateful to my supervisor for insisting these be ordered, and to Bouchon for doing them so right.

Leave a Reply

