Lesson #15: HappyThankYouMorePlease

It was by complete accident that I happened on Josh Radnor’s “HappyThankYouMorePlease”.  Traveling for business and with little to keep me occupied, I opted to actually watch the featured film on United’s tiny overhead barely-a-screen.  And I.was.captivated.

As my coworker and I exited the plane, we both asked in unison, “Did you watch that movie!?”.  Just as excited as I was, she gushed over the storyline and the simple, down-to-earth, real-people plot points.  I couldn’t wait to show others this little gem I’d found.

With a total of four intertwined story lines, “HappyThankYouMorePlease” tells the story of Sam (played by Josh Radnor), an aspiring novelist living in New York City – on the verge of the 30-somethings and struggling with all the fabulous questions of identity that slap a budding-writer upside the head.  While on the way to an interview, Sam shares a subway car with a young boy who becomes separated from his foster family, and accepts the responsibility of caring for him until he can be reunited with them – a task that becomes more and more complicated and affirming as the film wears on…

Though this story is at the center of the film, and there is more time spent mesmerized by a character named Mississippi, I found these chapters to be delicious side-dishes to a fabulous desert of a storyline about a woman suffering from alopecia.  Her struggles with relationships, spirituality and figuring-out-what-it-all-means are so genuine and gorgeous that one can’t forget her simple lessons learned.

Here is just a taste of what is at the heart of the film:

And I certainly don’t want to spoil the rest.  So, lesson #20 is, simply, see this film.  I will say more about its ideas in the two entries, soon to come… as “HappyThankYouMorePlease” is a lesson all its own.

One thought on “Lesson #15: HappyThankYouMorePlease

Leave a Reply

